New to the Buzz and Rafting - Mountain Buzz

Old 04-20-2010   #1

Parker, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2010
New to the Buzz and Rafting

I am new to the whole rafting ADDICITION!!!! I am looking to do my first river fishing run and everyone keeps telling me the pumphouse run is the way to go. I have done a ton of research and do not want to get in to anything over a class II for awhile until I get comfortable in my setup. I know I have a ton to learn but any help that anyone can offer would be great.

Thanks

TBONE

todd1124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-20-2010   #2

Fort Collins, Colorado
Paddling Since: '05
TBONE: Come do Pumphouse this weekend. It sounds like there's going to be plenty boats, both days, kayakers to sweep and help. I am also very new to this sport and have been assured that Pumphouse, while having some fast water, is very forgiving and a good learning ground for newbies. See the post for specifics. There's also a conversation going on about the first weekend in May; perhaps a RubyHorsethief, which is the best shakedown cruise ever.
Old 04-20-2010   #3

Vail, CO
Paddling Since: 2008
Pumphouse is the way to go for sure...especially when the water levels are low. Not sure how low you can run it...gonna find that out this weekend as they wont be more than 550 cfs tops I'm guessing. If you don't make it out soon...be careful. Once Pumphouse starts running full...its not the place to row your first time..in my opinion. I ran it blind the first time at just over 5,000 cfs and made some potentially dangerous mistakes....luckily no one went swimming or got hurt...but the potential was DEFINATELY there. A fisherman died up there last year at high flows...

For a good first time run...and great fishing. You can do State Bridge to Catamount on the Colorado. Just a couple wave trains...no rapids. It'll give you plenty of practice behind the oars.

Remember...point where you don't want to go and row backwards.

- Matty