Need help from all the AIRE-heads - Mountain Buzz

Old 11-27-2012   #1

San Francisco, California
Need help from all the AIRE-heads

Hi, everyone, I am really a newbie here seeking some help getting started. I just sold my 12' and am ready to move onto a bigger boat for a growing family.

I am about the pull the trigger on a Aire 156. I was set on 156R until someone steered me towards 156D. I have 4 children (3, 5, 8, 10) and am thinking of taking them on multiday trips on mild rivers here in Northern Cal, Southern Oregon (Lower Klamath) for 3-5 day trips in the summer. The rest of the time, it will go on class III to IV with a couple of paddler in the front and me rowing. 90% of the time, it will have a rowing frame on it.

Can Aire owners chime in on which boat will have more room on the boat? I am not too worried about carrying capacity or getting wet. I am also thinking of going with SFP for ease of cleaning/storage.

156D is meager 40' wide inside the tube, and 156R is 42' but the former gives extra 8" (4' + 4' from the 18" tube diameter). Will I be better off with D or R? I know that R will be a bit more stable. Or should I spring for a real 16'? Another boat I was thinking of was NRS E160 which is 7'7" full 47" width inside the tube. But, I don't want to go too big for the rivers here in the northwest are not that wide.

Please share your thoughts or experiences. I don't want to spend the kind of money I am about put down, and regret later. Thank you for any help.

Theodore

verendus is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-27-2012   #2

Kalispell, Montana
Paddling Since: 1997
156R owner here. I haven't ever been in a 156D, but my good friend has a 143D.

6 people is going to be a huge load for overnight/multiday in any boat, but very comfortable in a 156 boat for day trips.