Looking for advice on a good rescue boat - Mountain Buzz

Old 10-24-2018   #1

Albany, Oregon
Paddling Since: 2000
Looking for advice on a good rescue boat

I'm a firefighter with the Lebanon Fire District here in Oregon and our swift water rescue team is looking at expanding our capabilities by adding a raft to our arsenal. I was wondering if anyone here has any experience with swift water rescue and if so, do any of you have suggestions on a good boat? Right off the top, I'm thinking something with smaller diameter tubes to ease with pulling victims into the boat. What other things should I be considering? We're looking at a 14' self bailer. Depending on the situation, there will be anywhere from 2 to 4 rescuers and an unknown number of victims so we need a raft that can be operated with as few as two people but with enough room for multiple victims. Thanks everyone!

Oregrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-24-2018   #2

Denver, Colorado
Call Campy or Eric Young at Sawatch Rescue. Campy owned rafting company and is a long time guide, Eric is a fire fighter rafter/SWR lead for metro Denver area.
Sawatch Rescue - 970.368.3255
jonseim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2018   #3

Kalispell, Montana
Paddling Since: 1997
I was formerly on our local fire district board and had the opportunity to participate in their swiftwater rescue training which had a heavy focus on first responder rescue (where my own focus is generally on boater/participant rescue)

Anyway, the department had one of those Oceanid RCD inflatable rafts. It was good for stability and a low center of gravity to get a rescuee up onto the raft. The open bow/stern would also be an asset if you had to lower it to a logjam or other similar obstruction and rescue someone.