Lodore for newbie - Mountain Buzz

Old 06-16-2015   #1

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Paddling Since: 2011
Lodore for newbie

I've asked this question "tangentially" in some other threads, but might as well be explicit. I'm a relative newbie, invited on a Gates of Lodore trip in mid-August. Experience consists of rowing lots of flat water and some very minor rapids on the Grand, rowing roughly half the wild&scenic Rogue (but not Blossom) on a "clinic", and rowing the entire Main Salmon (all the way through to Riggins) myself, but at quite low September water (4K or so).

So I'm wondering how much of a step up in difficulty is Lodore at whatever water levels are to be expected mid-August (do they forecast 'em like on the Grand ?).

I'm pretty sure I'll do it, but just wondering what to expect. Thanks.

jge1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-16-2015   #2

Boston Mountains, Arkansas
Paddling Since: 2002
You'll no doubt get more detailed replies, but do it. By the time you get to the only "big" rapid you will have it figured out.
Long drive but an awesome place to be for a few days.
PBR62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by PBR62 View Post
You'll no doubt get more detailed replies, but do it. By the time you get to the only "big" rapid you will have it figured out.
That'd be Disaster or Hell's Half Mile ?
Quote:
Long drive but an awesome place to be for a few days.
Oh yeah, I wouldn't come so far for such a short trip, but it dovetails nicely with a wedding I'm attending in Idaho.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-16-2015   #4

Boston Mountains, Arkansas
Paddling Since: 2002
Hell's half mile. Since you've been on the Grand, it probably won't look big.
PBR62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015   #5

Lakewood, Colorado