Keep it Green! - Mountain Buzz

Old 05-18-2019   #1

Grand Junction, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1994
Keep it Green!

I'm a chef and restaurateur and I wonder why almost everyone, including cooks and chefs, doesn't who how to prep and take care of your fresh lettuce. kale, celery, and even cilantro. Here's how to have fresh lettuce for sandwiches or tacos weeks into a trip:

1. Get the freshest you can find. Organic really doesn't matter, it's just over priced.
2. Trim off the brown ends.
3. Soak the greens in warm water. Yes, warm, about 85-90 degrees, for 5-10 minutes.
4. Drain well and/or blot. Moisture is the enemy!
5. Place in an air tight container like Tupperware, Ziploc bags, or something similar. In the restaurants we used Cambro containers.
6. Refrigerate.

In my restaurant walk-in I've seen green leaf last two weeks fresh or more. Kale or cabbage at least a month. On a raft trip a good cooler and ice managed and I bet you could be eating fresh lettuce on your sandwich well into a July trip down the Grand! It really doesn't take much effort. Pre-cut or "wild" greens in bags won't last more than day or two.

Advertisement

Old 05-18-2019   #2
Sponsoring Vendors

Good info on the warm water bath. Any idea why that works?

Ive been able to keep iceberg lettuce for 15 days. Like you said, cut off the brown end, dry, then wrap in a couple paper towels and ziplock or vac seal. Cabbage gets to live in a dry box or hatch and then when there is room, move it to a cooler with the same paper towel and ziplock. Had cabbage that Ive used at home after it went on a 25 day trip down the GC. Selection, storage and management is everything. On one trip peoples tomatoes were shot on day 8 and the last one I did I pulled solid ones out after 17 days to slice up for lunch.