Grand canyon lottery - Mountain Buzz

Old 02-27-2018   #1

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Grand canyon lottery

I am new to rafting I do have some experience and I canoe. I recently put an application in to the Grand Canyon Lottery and I want the launch date of April 19th 2019. I need to put down $400 also deposit tomorrow and after that it's only $100 per person. The problem is is that I need to have somebody certified and that has experience with that type of white water. I would hate to put down my deposit and not find anybody that I trust to lead. Does anybody think it's attainable for me to go ahead and do this and find somebody to lead. I am new to this group I've been looking for a local group and haven't been able to find one in the Philadelphia area. I did contact a Canoe Club locally but it doesn't seem like they have much experience on the West Coast. Please help! I would hate to lose this opportunity

Bbranco0605 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-27-2018   #2

Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1995
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bbranco0605 View Post
Does anybody think it's attainable for me to go ahead and do this and find somebody to lead[?]
Yes, you are the permit holder (PH) and if you don't mind going with strangers you should have no problem filling the trip with people qualified to go. Start early interviewing potential trip leaders (TLs), make sure you've got a shared vision on the attitude for the trip (booze?, early mornings?, lots of hikes?, layover days?, trip length?, etc.). Maybe ask them first what they're looking for / expecting...

You should also be able to come out West this summer and do some multi-day trips with candidates to make sure you get along.

Here's an article about trip planning, you can also find lots using the search function above.

Congratulations!

-AH