Getting Older and Running Class 5 - Mountain Buzz

Old 03-26-2015   #1

Montrose, Colorado, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1988
Getting Older and Running Class 5

Yup, kinda bored and thinking about the upcoming season. Here in Colorado things are looking kinda grim-grim in most places- and my two favorite runs- the Piedra and Upper Animas are pretty much destined to have short seasons. I'll be heading to Idaho to run some non-permitted goodness-and some permitted goodness in June...

I'm 45 and I've been enjoying class 4/5 whitewater for the past 18 years-running most of it in a cataraft. I still really like it, but have found that it sure is getting harder to find folks who still enjoy the rush, focus, and commitment to running rivers that demand respect and a high level of skill.

No huge point to this post, just kinda wondering who else out there is also "gettin up there" and still gettin after it.

dgoods is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-26-2015   #2

i am 44. i do not consider my age "getting up there". i run the good stuff, and want more all the time.

i have seen older friends whose wives have told me that "he can't do those things anymore". Bullshit! when you stop doing, that is when you get old!
spencerhenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2015   #3

Boise, Idaho
Paddling Since: 1976
You youngsters! Hey Dgoods, if your healthy and you love it, do it! If your contemporaries are bailing on you so be it. There are plenty of us over 40 folks on the river. I'm 56 and getting bolder with age yet more cautious. I'm willing to make the run still but not with the careless abandon I once had. Taking a smarter not harder approach to things these days.

When you get to Idaho, give a shout and we'll go give it hell on a river or two. Old School!

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Mountain Buzz mobile app
Whetstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-26-2015   #4

Bayfield, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1980