Gettin Maytagged - Mountain Buzz

Old 03-05-2019   #1

Banff, alberta
Gettin Maytagged

So me and a couple buddies are amazed at this commentary. Hopefully no one got injured because I really can’t get enough of this video.
If this man is a buzzard please step forward.

gazzy902 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-05-2019   #2

Durango, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2012
"That was a full Maytag circle jerk!"

I'm new to rowing but you'd better believe I'd come into a rapid named Maytag with some steam.

This hurt to watch why were they not able to grab a throw bag and get yanked out?
Fly By Night is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2019   #3

Lakewood, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1993
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fly By Night View Post

I'm new to rowing but you'd better believe I'd come into a rapid named Maytag with some steam.

This hurt to watch why were they not able to grab a throw bag and get yanked out?
Its actually Tappan Falls on the Middle Fork... but Tappan certainly gave them a maytagging.

I'm sure they would have appreciated a throw bag or something...but people decided to watch from shore and make comments while shooting video rather then help the guys out.

I heard one guy had a couple of broken ribs.

The rapid has a REALLY easy setup with flatwater above, a big eddy to boat scout from on river right, and a fairly clear tongue to run down. The guys who got Maytagged even had a few boats to follow that did the correct line. Not sure why they went over there.

That said, on my last trip down we had a few guys go over that same spot, but they didn't get Maytagged. They definitely scared themselves though and it got kinda flippy but no carnage.

Edit: Watched the whole thing again after seeing it a year or two ago... looks like they followed the pink cataraft into the hole. I agree that attempts at getting a rope to them certainly was not as enthusiastic nor accurate as it could have been.