Cataract Canyon Motor Question?? - Mountain Buzz

Old 08-08-2017   #1

Salt Lake City, Utah
Cataract Canyon Motor Question??

I'm planning an October Cataract trip and I am a total newb in regards to motors and rafts. I'm planning on bringing a motor on this upcoming trip. Any buzzard advice on motor types, horsepower, gas, electric? I'll have a mount. Does anyone know about motor rental options? I usually wouldn't do a motor other than we want to hit a bunch of the side hikes on a five day trip.

I appreciate any info.

Skyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-09-2017   #2

Wheat Ridge, Colorado
I usually go big. 150hp Honda is my go-to, only problem is nobody on the river works on them, so make sure you have all your maintenance done at home.
fishingraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017   #3

Rainy Northwest, Washington
Paddling Since: 1980
Always at least one smart-ass answer. Do a search though, there are lots of threads on this.
swiftwater15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-09-2017   #4

Salt Lake City, Utah
Quote:
Originally Posted by swiftwater15 View Post
Always at least one smart-ass answer. Do a search though, there are lots of threads on this.
I'm glad at someone had a smart ass comment. I wouldn't expect any less. Yeah, I did a search. Some of the comments were all over the board and were old. I was hoping for some fresh comments. Seems like the Honda 2HP with the plastic blade was pretty bomber and pushes as good as some 4 - 5HP motors. Lightweight and can lay on its side. Rental options I guess was the main question. I've called a few boat rental outfits and they don't rent motors without the boat.
Skyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2017   #5

Farmington, Utah
Paddling Since: 1995