Backcountry Ethics - free-ride big mountain biking in Alaska/Yukon - Mountain Buzz

Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Rafting

Old 4 Weeks Ago   #1

Backcountry Ethics - free-ride big mountain biking in Alaska/Yukon

I've recently been reading up on some beautiful rivers up in BC, Alaska, and the Yukon. In doing so I ran across a film (on youtube but it connect me to the red bull website) that bothered me. A bunch of downhill mountain bikers that ran the Tatshenshini River with their downhill bikes and a Redbull sponsored helicopter and camera crew. The link is posted here.

https://www.redbull.com/int-en/ridin...-storch-mccaul

The river looks amazing and the scenery beautiful. What really disturbed me was the downhill mountain bike riding on untouched mountains. I'd call it shredding up the mountainside tundra. I've been running rivers for 23 years and mountain biking (on established mountain bike trails) for 30, and for me the main commonality of these two sports is the love of the outdoors and the beautiful places that you can get to. But watching these guys heli-lift their bikes to the top of these untouched mountains just to shred straight down and tear up the mountainside goes against the ethics of leave-no-trace. These guys even built jumps up there, shown somewhere in the middle of the 50 minute movie that was made.