A Boat for Women to Row? - Mountain Buzz

Old 02-19-2017   #1

Nampa, Idaho
Paddling Since: 2014
A Boat for Women to Row?

I have been boating for 4 years. I started with a 14' Maravia Diablo. After a couple years, I bought a 16' Maravia Typhoon. I like both boats and row and paddle them well, but my wife and daughter both have trouble rowing them. My wife is 5'2" and my daughter is 5'5", so they are small and medium sized women. I get a lot of resistance from both of them to even try to learn. Their big complaint is they don't feel they can get the boat to move where they want it to. We have a Lynx 2 person Inflatable Kayak that they both enjoy paddling, but I can't seem to get them to take the next step. I would like to have another captain or two in the family to give me a break or take over if I swim.

I am thinking of getting another smaller boat. I thought we could use it for a paddle boat or R2 or good a good learning boat for my wife and daughter. What is the best boat for women to row or learn to row? I was thinking of a 10-13 foot like the Maravia Spider. Or, I know it won't be to versatile for R2 or paddle, but maybe a smaller cat. Any thoughts?

Dr.AndyDVM is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-19-2017   #2

Cortez, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2007