Sexual harassment in the outdoor industry? - Mountain Buzz

Old 05-26-2017   #1

Durango, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2012
Sexual harassment in the outdoor industry?

Hey -- this is a topic I'm hesitant to bring up, but I'm a journalist with Outside Magazine working on an assignment about sexual harassment and assault in the outdoor industry, and I'd love to hear of any personal experiences or observations you're willing to share, particularly if they're from the last few years. Feel free to comment below or email me at [email protected]. I can guarantee your privacy, and won't publish anything without your explicit permission.

About me: I'm a whitewater kayaker who's also guided sea kayak trips in New Zealand, wilderness canoe expeditions in Alaska and rowed gear boats in Utah. Now I work full time in journalism. You can see my work at www.kristaleelanglois.com

KristaLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-01-2017   #2

Durango, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2012
bump

bump
KristaLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2017   #3

Western Slope, CO, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2009
Realistically, Krista, I don't think you will find much here. I've lived in Colorado my whole life and in the context of the outdoors, I haven't ever seen any evidence of anything I would call sexual harassment. Everybody gets an equal ribbing for what they have done. Whether Rafting, Climbing, or any other high risk, often guided activity. Both sexes seem to stand up equally from what I have observed.
ColoradoDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-01-2017   #4

Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1995
I've seen some pretty nasty misogyny and harassment on this site. Shit that doesn't fly anymore, thank God.
Nothing in the world is more yielding and gentle than water. Yet it has no equal for conquering the resistant and tough. The flexible can overcome the unbending; the soft can overcome the hard. - Lao Tse