River Etiquette - Mountain Buzz

Old 05-02-2017   #1

Vacaville, California
Paddling Since: 2016
River Etiquette

Hi all, I'm fairly new to the whitewater community and I'd love to hear the communities thoughts on river etiquette. My general impression so far is very positive. Give space help people out and be friendly. Kayakers and rafters seem to compliment each other on the river with their capabilities. There doesn't appear to be any negative undertones. I'd also like to hear stories of interaction between private and commercial boaters. Looking forward to your comments and etiquette suggestions/unwritten rules of the river.

Sent from my iPhone using Mountain Buzz

Chico is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-02-2017   #2
Shapp

the grove, Oregon
Paddling Since: 1986
Seams like the old golden rule is all you need to follow.

Also, about 10 years ago, a friend and I were on a 1 boat trip down the lower Salmon. When we hit lake Snake, it was getting late and we were looking for a camp. We passed an outfitter cooking dinner. They hailed us over and asked where we were going to camp that night, then offered us to camp with them. Long story short, they fed us and gave us all the booze we could drink, though we did the dishes. it was their last night on the river and they lost some custies at Pitsburg Landing (unexpectedly) and had more food and booze than they knew what to do with. It was a great party night, their custies were fun to hang with, and we had a big drunken sumo/pugalisttic match with dry bags filled with soft goods, among other shenanigans. I rate this experience as gold standard etiquette. One of the single best river nights I ever had.
shappattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2017   #3

Wheat Ridge, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1995
Chico,