Opinions Wanted: Lifetime Warranties w/ Outdoor Gear - Mountain Buzz

Old 02-10-2016   #1

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2007
Opinions Wanted: Lifetime Warranties w/ Outdoor Gear

Hey Buzzards,

Just put up a post about lifetimes warranties with outdoors gear. It's based on some recent experiences I've had, and meant as a reference to get through the fine-print and see how companies (Kokatat, REI, Patagonia, etc.) really handle their lifetime warranty policies - luckily most the results are good!

Give it a read, and I'd love to hear your experiences with these companies & others - post in the comments (Buzz or blog) or email me to have these experiences included in the post!

Enjoy and hope it's useful.

Lifetime Warranties: Personal Stories with Outdoor Gear

- John

nessles is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-10-2016   #2

Bazzaro, Free
Paddling Since: 2020
I worked as a warranty manager for a major archery manufacture back in the day. We had a no fault warranty. We where selling 200 bows a day! We were considered one of the best at the time. If you mailed back a bow I'd go to the shelf and put a new one back to ya in the mail that day. If I had a bad day, I might try to charge you.

With that said 8 out of 10 bows left the shop defective. It was impossible to get a good tune on the bows and limbs were cracked going out the door. I went round and round with the owner. His reasoning was that 90% of all the ppl that buy our products really have no idea how to use them and owning a"_____" bow was really all they wanted." Customers really could not even shoot a bow in his mind. Also the markup was soooo high that in his words, "I can replace this bow 3 times and still make money."

20 years later this company is still in business and bow hunters are lining up to buy them and he still operates under the same business model.