Lightning - Mountain Buzz

Old 04-12-2016   #1

Golden, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2015
Lightning

What are the general thoughts about lightning on the river? Or actual facts. Ha! Is it better to stay on the river? Pull over and get on land away from the boat? I have a lot of experience with lighting in high alpine situations but have never really heard of any rules for the river. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Sbishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-12-2016   #2

Missoula, Montana
Paddling Since: 1992
You're not grounded if you're sitting in a rubber boat on top of the water. I've been in an aluminum row boat in the middle of a lake and had lightning hit less than 50yds away. Aside from making my ears ring and scaring the hell out of me, no worse for wear. I say ride the lightning!

But really - you should probably get off the water if there's a nasty lightning storm, better to be safer than cooked.
seantana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016   #3

Interesting topic. Has anyone on the river ever been shocked by a lightning strike?
jbolson is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-12-2016   #4

NIMBY, Oregon
Paddling Since: Womb
Lightning is a threat on the river, but even more so when you pull closer to the lightning rods(trees) on the bank. I have a lot more to say about this but it's easier to post a link.

https://www.mikeholt.com/mojonewsarc...s~20020716.htm

Just google "lightning rafting site:www.mountainbuzz.com", and you will see the other 10 threads on this subject.

Interesting story of a strike at camp on the GC and a lot of other great information. Much more in-depth than the last link.

https://rrfw.org/RaftingGrandCanyon/Lightning
heavyswimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016   #5
no tengo

Baytopia, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1876