Good news for Grand Canyon and other river trips! - Mountain Buzz

Old 10-10-2013   #1

Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1999
Good news for Grand Canyon and other river trips!

Feds to allow States to pay for opening their parks. Governor's from CO, AZ and UT have all been record saying they have the funds to open them. Call your State officials today to voice your support for this.

APNewsBreak: Feds to let states pay to open parks - The Denver Post

marko is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-10-2013   #2

Beaverton, Oregon
Paddling Since: 2005
This is F&(*&()ING AWESOME NEWS.
brandob9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013   #3

cedar city, Utah
After spending the last week reading and researching I can honestly say.....this is a horrible outcome.

I am a Utah resident. I have watched as our representatives have systematically set this entire issue into motion. Our state legislature has passed bills over the last few years to force the handover of federal lands to the state. Its largely symbolic until you realize these individuals work with Congresswomen/men in matters of federal issues, like budgets. Our state congressmen are the ones largely in charge of the current spending gap. Now our counties have declared states of emergency and vocalized takeovers of federal parks, either through force or funding.

So for me, there may be short term gain for them to open some, what will be an extremely small portion, of the parks but that accompanied with political realities that neither solve the current problem. In fact, they exacerbate the issue.

I sincerely hope I am wrong but I think this is a purposeful, planned and concerted effort by a minority of the nation and Congress to change the game forever. This just smells to much like the SageBrush rebellion of the past for me and too many variables are aligned with that interpretation.