Crying on the river? - Mountain Buzz

Old 09-02-2008   #1

Longmont, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2005
Crying on the river?

I've been paddling for 3 years, stepped up to solid Class III+ this year and on more than one occasion I've completely lost it and cried. Anyone else have this problem? My skills are solid, roll is solid...just HATE river running. Got into the sport for playboating, which I absolutley LOVE! Never cry while I'm playboating, just river running! Any advice? Please don't tell me to stop river running as this is NOT an option. I've gained some solid water reading skills from rivers and would like to get over this fear I have.

chellebelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-03-2008   #2

Lyons, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1998
Send a message via AIM to erdvm1
There was an entire article in American Whitewater about a year ago that would be very helpful and encouraging to read on this very topic. Hang in there. It's a very emotional sport.
One other resource would be Darren Livingston
He cries all the time
erdvm1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008   #3

Summit, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1996
Send a message via AIM to COUNT
In addition to that article, Doug Ammons wrote a series of three articles for AW about the psychology of paddling and dealing with fear on the river in the last three issues. I'll see if I can find a link; it is both fascinating and very helpful reading.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-03-2008   #4

San Diego and Frisco, CO
Yo dude, all we girls cry on the river! There is a great segment on a vid (maybe one of Anna Levesque's???) about crying on the rio. It is mostly girls, some guys, but it makes the point clear....lots of folks cry!
That said....ummmmmm, I say play more, down-river less if that makes you happy! One pro I know HATES downriver stuff, is never comfortable, but she can throw down tricks that are the envy of ever dry-eyed guy on the bank!

KJ