The perfect economic storm?? - Mountain Buzz

Old 08-24-2008   #1

Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1999
The perfect economic storm??

“It is easy to ignore the storm if you look at the opposite horizon. When the storm reaches your location there can be no more ignorance.”

Here is a nice sobering article to start your Monday... enjoy..

http://prudentbear.com/index.php/com...y?art_id=10098

marko is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-24-2008   #2
gh

pnw, Colorado
Not sure its that sobering. The writting has been on the wall for a while.
Old 08-24-2008   #3
cma

Boulder
Old news.. economists have been talking about America's problem/love/addiction with credit for years... The mantra has allways been kill your TV when everyone really should have been saying kill your credit cards.

As a small business owner, I do not accept credit cards. Even though credit card companies are vultures.. feeding off the businesses that use them to collect money as well as the people that use them.. The ultimate responsibility comes down to the individual. No one forced anyone to buy the $5 latte over the $.50 cup of coffee at the gas station.. or the Hummer over the Geo. No one forced the homeowner to take out a zero down or interest only variable rate loan. I have no pity towards those that have chosen this path and am actually pissed because these people ruin it for others and then cry when they need to be saved from their own stupidity.

I think the sooner people say no to credit and work and save to pay cash or to pay that 20% down we will all be in a better place.
cma is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-24-2008   #4

Denver, Colorado
Actually, this isn't old news. The article is dated August 18th 2008.
Maybe you didn't read the entire article?

I agree with your last sentence, but for that to happen will take a deep American recession... the last 2 paragraphs in this article sum it up well.
Old 08-25-2008   #5
gh