partially amputated my hand, and feeling down - Mountain Buzz

Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Other Chatter > The Eddy

Old 12-06-2009   #1

Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2002
partially amputated my hand, and feeling down

hey guys what's up? its been a while since i've been on, and i'm looking for some moral support/advice please. I've been kayaking for 2 years now my first was mostly play boating, and just this summer i started to get more into creeking, i currently live in ny, and one of my favorite runs probably has to be the independence at 700cfs or so... and 2 weeks ago i had a major major accident involving getting nudged while using a band saw. I cut all of the tendons nerves, and ligaments on the palm side of hand including the radial and ulner, i also cutmy ulner artery... The Drs say that i might see 10% sensation and 20% range of motion... i'm afraid that i might not be able to manipulate my finers, and hand enough to be able to hold a paddle again. Any ideas? my friend said he's seen a couple play boaters with one hand but idk... im greatful to be alive, and still have my hand most deffinately, i'm just worried that one of the things i like/love to do(creeking) will be next to nill. Someone said that there are all sorts of orthopedic braces out there as well? does any suggestions?

jeremy_warner is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-06-2009   #2
gh

pnw, Colorado
Very sorry to hear about your injury. I would look at this thread https://www.mountainbuzz.com/forums/f...ury-27625.html
and then the blog that he has. I think you can find some inspiration there and best of luck with your recovery.
Old 12-06-2009   #3

Denver, Colorado
Thanks man, yeah... Seeing his injuries i'm 100% greatful that i'm lucky to not only be alive but that it was able to be saved
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-06-2009   #4

SE, Wyoming
Paddling Since: 1986
Big shock, to get hurt like that. Especially when it's not your fault.