Thoughts on Snowboard Size - Mountain Buzz

Old 01-12-2011   #1

Portland, Oregon
Paddling Since: 2006
Thoughts on Snowboard Size

Hey All,

I just started riding and I was able to trade a guy a basically unused Burton Canyon with Mission Bindings for an old pair of skis I had. Seeing as I knew nothing about the sport, I figured a 167 would be an okay size for me (I did some research on the Burton website and it looked like someone 6ft and 240 could ride a 167)... however, after a few days on the board, it feels really hard to turn. Of course more practice could probably cure this, but I'm wondering if I'm on a board that might be making an already steap learning curve, even steeper.

Any thoughts?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-12-2011   #2

Pugetopolis, Washington
Paddling Since: 96
It's a good deck and bindings. Did you say that you're 6ft 240,or that that is just what Burton's website recommends? The Canyon is for big feet and big(ger) riders,if I remember right.

I used to ride a Canyon(6ft 225) and never noticed anything unusual about it. It was a fun board. It's not near as hard to turn as my Never Summer Titan(which i love). Just keep practicing.
BarryDingle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011   #3

Portland, Oregon
Paddling Since: 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryDingle View Post
It's a good deck and bindings. Did you say that you're 6ft 240,or that that is just what Burton's website recommends? The Canyon is for big feet and big(ger) riders,if I remember right.

I used to ride a Canyon(6ft 225) and never noticed anything unusual about it. It was a fun board. It's not near as hard to turn as my Never Summer Titan(which i love). Just keep practicing.
Yea, I'm 6ft 240, size 9.5 dogs... the Burton website says I should be on a 163, so that has my "newbie curiosity" going... thanks for the beta.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-12-2011   #4
GoBro

BZN, Montana
Paddling Since: 2008