Tele Ski Questions - Mountain Buzz

Old 02-16-2010   #1

Longmont, Colorado
Paddling Since: 98
Tele Ski Questions

So I got my first taste of Tele this past week up at CB, now I'm shopping for some gear because I need more. I've been skiing for 30 years and snowboarding for 20, it's time to move on.

Here's where I need your advice; I rented 174's, mainly because it's all they had. I'm 6' and about 185 lbs, was this the right size or should I be looking a little shorter? They felt kinda long but some of that may have been my terrible form.

I ride hard on my snowboard and intend to do the same on Tele's. What are the benefits of the different ski designs and binding designs? Is twin tip good for anything other than looking cool and the occasional 180/540? Do they help in the bumps?

I obviously need something somewhat forgiving but I don't want start too basic as I was hitting the black bumps by the end of day one.

What else do I need to know?

Pete

GPP33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-16-2010   #2

x, x
Paddling Since: x
my take would be the same following as an alpine line. one ski wont do it all. you want powder and bumps you will be at 2 ends of the spectrum. as far as length the should ski the same as your alpine preferance pending you are up to date.( sidecut, rocker, camber, Reverse camber, no long straight sticks, etc) you want bomber all day all mountain ski : rossi rc 112 in a 188. mind blowing design, covers all your bases, put a 22 des. HH on that bitch and watch out

newer skis ski totally different based on skier types, all mountans are just that, parks skis are soft, and powder skis +120mm under foot kill your knees on the hard pack and groomers. ideally i would look for a ski that has med sidecut, tip rocker -20mm, and a flat tail and long. +190cm and 112 under foot

skis i think you would like.

rossi S7 and rc 112 in a 188
volie asylum and insane 186
atomic atlas or Benchetler - bent chetler