Skis out of control after tune? - Mountain Buzz

Old 03-19-2010   #1

Eagle County, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2002
Skis out of control after tune?

Attention ski techs:

I had my skis tuned at a shop. It was free, as a favor from the owner, so I really don't want to take them back. Both pairs (my wife's and mine) can barely turn. They are flopping all around, and feel like we are basically constantly catching an edge.

I figured the tips and tails were too sharp, so I worked on them with a stone. It maybe helped a tiny amount, but not really. Should I put a file to them, or do you think something else is wrong? I can take them back to the shop, but I'd rather not right now.

Suggestions? I usually tune and wax them myself in between full shop tunes with base grinds, so I'm a wannabe self ski tech, still trying to learn.

My wife is a former race coach, and I am a former ski instructor. I like to think that we aren't just skiing retarded, it really is difficult to ski on them, and not fun at all.

Thanks in advance!

WhiteLightning is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-19-2010   #2

Land of Lovin, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2006
Try de-tuning the tips - where the tips leave the ground if you lay them down without the brake holding them up.

That should help out, most shops skip the de-tuning step which makes your tips grabby and can make you feel out of control.
Jensjustduckie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010   #3

Eagle County, Colorado
Cool, so I did that with a stone, should I try a file? Maybe I didn't take enough of the edge off.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-19-2010   #4

Durango, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteLightning View Post
Cool, so I did that with a stone, should I try a file? Maybe I didn't take enough of the edge off.