Fat and Stiff? - Mountain Buzz

Old 11-15-2010   #1

Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1901
Fat and Stiff?

So at the end of last season, I finally broke my Volkl Gotama's that I've been riding since 2003. I need to replace them, and want some input. I love the 105 underfoot, and don't want to go too much wider, maybe up to 110. I also like a stiff, lively ski and not a wet noodle. I'm not sold on the reverse sidecut skis, either, but it seems like almost every powder ski on the market has that now. So what are my options? What do people like? Is there a reverse sidecut ski that still does well on groomers? Any recommendations on a powder ski that's stiff and still does well in crud?

Thanks!

cuzin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-15-2010   #2

Salida, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1993
do you mean reverse sidecut or rocker? Beacuse very few skis are using reverse sidecut, but tons have rocker. If you liked your Gotama's I would reccomend anything around the same size that Volkl has this year ( I don't know their line that well) but you would crazy not to try a rockered ski. Most skis in that size range like, this year's K2 Seth model have tip and tail rocker with some camber underfoot and regular sidecut. The rocker does not negatively affect skiing on groomers, but it changes skiing in all other types of conditions in a dramatically positive way. Unless you are worried about your Nastar times (which doesn't seem likely since you have been skiing on Gotamas) do not hesitate to go to a rockered ski. My $.02...
Mike Harvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010   #3

Denver, Colorado
Yeah, sure, I meant "rocker" or reverse camber. Whatever that new fangled stuff is. Not worried about Nastar times but would like to be able to still go fast and make turns on groomers without feeling like a total gaper.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-15-2010   #4

Salida, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1993
Quote:
Originally Posted by cuzin View Post