AT setup questions.. - Mountain Buzz

Old 01-17-2011   #1

The next zone, .
AT setup questions..

Ok buzzards I am thinking of buying a AT setup and am looking for some advice on what to get or ideas of what to start to look at....

My background is that I currently sled access the BC 2-3 times a week for pow and ride my snowboard. I dont need a ski to cruse groomers around the resort as I will still use my snowboard for that. I am 6'4" tall with a kinda wide foot that is size 13 and 210 lbs - pry 240 lbs easy with all my gear on. I did ski for a bunch of years 8 - 10 when I was young, ski raced, and still can get around fine on a alpine set up. This set up will be mainly for Pow, BC, and getting around with skins on...

So I am just lookin for recommendations on what to look at as far as boots, bindings, and ski's. Used is fine for the ski's and bindings but I will pry go to a shop and find the right boot - as far as boots are some better for riding sleds as this set up will be used with sleds. Also what shops are best - in salida, leadville, glenwood, apsen, or summit as that is close and I dont want to drive to denver to get fitted but will if I have to..

Also as a bigger guy are there bindings to stay away from or that are better? As far as size what would you all recommend as a size range on the ski's? I do like the rocker/camber snowboards that are out there so where do i start? Durable is more important to me than super light weight as I tend to be hard on equipment.

I have ridden a snowboard for the past 20+ years and love it.. I just want to be able to get around a bit better in some situations.

Thanks in advance...

Advertisement

Old 01-17-2011   #2
Fry

The OC, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2009
Fritschi Freerides are pretty durable. I have skied them in and out of area for years and never had a problem. I am 6' 1", 180 pounds. The most weight I have had on the bindings is probably about 220.
Fry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011   #3