What type of river clothing will I need for the summer on CO rivers? - Mountain Buzz

Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Kayaking > Kayaking | Gear Talk

Old 11-08-2013   #1

Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2001
What type of river clothing will I need for the summer on CO rivers?

I am a newb and I'm starting to think about what kind of river clothing I will need for my first season kayaking in Colorado. I'm planning on taking lessons with Colorado Whitewater and doing their float weekend thing in early May and then continuing to float throughout the summer. It's likely that I wouldn't continue to float past late August / early September. I'd like to run easier rapids on rivers like the South Platte, Poudre, Animas, Colorado, and Arkansas. The kayak I bought came with a an NRS dry top. What else will I need for summer floating? I plan to likely get some high-topped booties and was thinking about a short sleeve or sleeveless wetsuit. What thoughts and recommendations do people have? Obviously, if I like the sport and become dedicated, I'll want to buy a Kokatat drysuit, but I'm thinking more in the sort term for my first season and only during the summer months.

RyanHostetler is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-08-2013   #2
GoBro

BZN, Montana
Paddling Since: 2008
The colorado runoff season is short and happens may-june generally. This is when everything is running. It's also when the water is very cold. Dress for a swim. With a Decent drytop with good base layers (poly-pro, fleece, wool) and a wetsuit bottom you should be able to do alright in easier water picking your days.
Old 11-08-2013   #3

student
dry tops on sale right now

Sale on NRS base layers and dry tops here NRS - Steep & Cheap. I would jump on this. There is better gear out there but as a starter dry top this is a great deal and will be solid enough for a few years. If you fall in love with kayaking, and hopefully you do, you can always upgrade.