What size oars and frame for 12' Hyside? - Mountain Buzz

Old 07-28-2011   #1
4Life

Moustacheville, North Carolina
What size oars and frame for 12' Hyside?

I have a 1997 Hyside 12' Outfitter Pro and I am about to purchase an NRS frame for it. I took some measurements of the raft and I got Width (C toC)=57", and Length (of flat area)=60".

Based on this I will be getting a Big Horn I with 60" cross tubes (I have heard it's ok to go a little wider) and 60" side rails.

Now I am trying to determine the correct length oars to get. I read a formula somewhere that said you multiply the width of the frame (60), times 3 and divide by 2 to get the length of the oars. So 60*3=180/2=90= 7.5 feet. My guess without the formula would have been 8 feet, and the NRS sizing guide agrees. I am new to rowing but very experienced with whitewater. I live on the East Coast, so I am paddling technical rivers. The highest volume river I would be rowing out here is the Upper Gauley.

That all being said, what size oars do I need!?

DirtBag is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-28-2011   #2
sh$t show voyeuor/host

Barnard(Marshall), North Carolina
Paddling Since: wen?
Get the 8 footers, you can always cut them down and they should be the same price. I'm sure those formulas can be helpful in narrowing it down, but you really need to try the frame and oars on the boat in the water to determine that they are at the right angle and the handles sit at the right height with the blades in the water.
matt cook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011   #3
Beginner

Eastern Slope, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1980
Get 8 1/2. 8 foot oars were a little short for the Mini-Me, in my opinion. I used 8 1/2 in my Mini-Me and loved them. Your boat is a little wider so you really should be choosing between 8 1/2 and 9. 9 foot oars are a little more common I think.
Randaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-28-2011   #4

Boise, Idaho