Wavesport z kayak - Mountain Buzz

Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Kayaking > Kayaking | Gear Talk

Old 10-02-2013   #1

Springfield, Massachusetts
Paddling Since: 2013
Wavesport z kayak

Hello, I'm new to kayaking. I've done a few river runs. I am 5' 7" tall and weigh 160 lbs. I have wavesport ez. I like the fit a lot. However, when entering flat water (part of the race). The boat becomes very sluggish. I have the opportunity to buy a wavesport z. I've read that's a good river runner, but I'm concerned that it may be too big for me. Should I purchase the z? I know these are older models, but they fit my current budget. Is there a way to make the ez a little faster, move the seat forward or backward. Losing 10 lbs is possible, but will take some time. Any ideas would be appreciated. Thanks

Mayde is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-02-2013   #2

Nampa, Idaho
Paddling Since: 1995
For you, I don't think that would be a good upgrade from the EZ.

What kind of boat do you want?
1) A dedicated playboat for tricks and easier rapids.
RECOMMENDATION: Jackson All-Star, Wave Sport Project52.
2) A playful boat that can run a little more difficult whitewater.
RECOMMENDATION: Keep your EZ, or seek out a Jackson Fun or Liquidlogic FreeRide.
3) A river running boat that you can push your ability to run harder whitewater in. These boats are the fastest, as in general length = speed.
RECOMMENDATION: Jackson Villain S or Hero. Dagger Mamba or Nomad. Liquidlogic Remix 69/79 or Stomper 80.

In general, bigger boats will be faster and help you begin to run harder whitewater. Smaller boats will be more playful and do more tricks.

The EZ is a better boat and fits you better than the Z. I would recommend making sure any potential purchase you make is of a boat that fits your size well. That means research to make sure you fit well within the weight range of the kayak model.

-Micah
Favre is offline   Reply With Quote