WaveSport X, .. beginner boat? - Mountain Buzz

Old 07-26-2011   #1

Lakewood, 80214
Paddling Since: 2010
WaveSport X, .. beginner boat?

Hello to everyone again. Confluence Kayaks in Denver has a used Wavesport X. They want $250 for it. I haven't seen it yet. I'm a beginner paddler, started last year with duckies.. I really want a hard shell. I am 5 8 and around 140lbs. just wondering what you guys thought about this as a starter boat for someone my size? and if the price seems right.. thanks for any info guys. I love this site and am on it almost everyday

qsjones is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-26-2011   #2

Near water (hopefully), Colorado
Paddling Since: 2008
Im 140 pounds, that was my first boat, thats a fair price.
smauk2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011   #3

longmont, Colorado
Its funny how peoples ideas of boat shapes and designs have changed. In its day the X was the hottest play boat you could get. Now people are wanting to get it as their first boat? Just be prepared it will be edgy. Learning in that boat will do one of two things for you. Either you will progress your paddling fast or you will get frustrated and be timid trying to learn in a boat thats to agressive for you. I would say demo it if you can or maybe look at a play/river running boat for your first year or two then step up to more of a freestyle boat. What are you wanting out of a boat? Playboating? River running? Creeking? Most people that really get into the sport need two boats a play boat and a creek boat. The price is right but be prepared stepping out of a duckie and into the X will be a BIG jump.
huck it is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-26-2011   #4

Golden, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1984