Sizing Opinions for Remix or Zen - Mountain Buzz

Old 07-31-2017   #1

Salt Lake City, Utah
Sizing Opinions for Remix or Zen

Hey there, I'm looking for a Mamba, Remix, or Zen for my husband, and we can't decide on sizing. We are newer paddlers, looking for a stable user friendly boat that's not overly difficult to roll. I have a mamba 8.1 that has been great for me. He's kind of between sizes though. He fits better in the mamba 8.6, but isn't sure between the Remix 69 or 79, and the Zen medium or large. He is 6'2", 190 lbs, size 12 feet. He's sat in all of them but isn't sure, and we don't have the ability to paddle them as a demo on the river.

I'm looking for advice or recommendations between these boats or something entirely different! Thanks!

Kdawnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-31-2017   #2

Fort Collins, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1986
A friend of mine sized my son into a large and said that he preferred erring on the side of larger. I am overweight and paddle a Large. My opinion is that if he fits, the larger size is more dependent on weight than height (again, assuming his legs and feet fit in the boat comfortably). At 190 he should be able to paddle a Zen medium. If he is older (pushing or past 40) he is likely to put on some pounds and the Large might fit him longer.

If you live in Utah the Large also has more room for a tarp and a sleeping bag for self supported westwater overnights.

I would also seriously recommend that you take a drive and test paddle any boat before you buy. You said you can't, but I never buy a boat I haven't paddled. Sometimes you find out random things like the foot bulkheads pinch your toes, or the seat pinches your butt and makes your feet fall asleep. These are things you can only learn by paddling the boat.

Outfitting has comes light years since I started kayaking in 1986 and the differences in comfort can be more important to a beginner that the boat style.