Safest, easiest way to transport 4 kayaks on minivan - Mountain Buzz

Old 08-02-2015   #1

Chico, California
Paddling Since: 2015
Safest, easiest way to transport 4 kayaks on minivan

Hi! I am completely new to recreational kayaking. I just bought 4 Perception Swifty recreational kayaks for me and my three sons, ages 14, 12, and 8. We bought a Thule Stacker and have them on top of my minivan. They are pretty hard for us to get all lined up on edge side by side. But we've been doing it and having lots of fun.
I am wondering if there is an easier way... as in a different rack or a different way to stack them. Can they go one on top of each other and then strapped down? 2 on each side?
Do they have to have the front and back tie downs attached to the front and back of the car?
What would be the advantage of on edge as on opposed to on top of each other?
Thank you for any help. I'm following instructions but still feel pretty clueless about it......

karenkmontna is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-02-2015   #2

Westminster, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2008
Keeping the boats on their side preserves the shape of the hull. If you strap your plastic boats right side up they'll "oil-can" which means they slowly form dents in the bottom. The system you have is proven. Stick with it and you'll get better at tying your boats up. BTW, are you using cam straps to tie your boats down? Cam straps are the best system for securing your boats. If you're using rope or bungees you're boats won't be as secure (unless you're really good with rope).

Sent from my iPad using Mountain Buzz
Old 08-02-2015   #3

Chico, California
thx for the reply.....
yes, I am using cam straps.... 2 thule ones that came with the stacker and two that i bought separately.