Roof Rack for '06 Civic LX? - Mountain Buzz

Old 09-29-2009   #1

Pipersville, Pennsylvania
Paddling Since: 2008
Roof Rack for '06 Civic LX?

Hi, I recently purchased a used '06 Civic and would like to throw a rack on it. Can anyone recommend one for me? I will be carrying my Wavesport Diesel in the summer months and my snowboard in the winter.

I noticed the Thule Aero works for my car model. Is that a good rack?

I'm a complete noob with this stuff so any advice is appreciated. Thanks!

Cleves is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-29-2009   #2

Buena Vista, Colorado
Paddling Since: 93
Thule or Yakima would be the way to go for ultimate versatility. I rock Yakima but that is what I started with so I stick with it.
Snowhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009   #3

McCall, Idaho
yakima only

yakima vs. thule is a matter of opinion, and most people with roof racks do have one.

mine is yakima only. this is based on having a thule rack on a 97 jetta for a few years and being completely disappointed with it. the main reason is based on simple engineering principals: the yakima bar is a round cross section, which is the most efficient for carrying loads applied in any direction. the thule cross bar is rectangular, which is a less efficient cross section. based on my experience the thule cross bars are more likely to "sag" over the same tower spread as compared to yakima, and that is exactly what happened to mine - they had a significant bow and sag in the middle after year one with a relatively small distance (approx 36") between the tower supports. here is a picture of my truck and camper, both with the tower spread around/over 60" and 66" bars, and there is minimal sag even when loaded up.