Quick Release Harness - Mountain Buzz

Old 10-27-2013   #1

Edwards, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2012
Quick Release Harness

I have been looking into getting a rescue PFD and under product description/specs I have seen something called a Quick Release Harness. I am fairly new to kayaking and am curious what this is and what it does.

Thanks,
Caleb

Caleb125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-28-2013   #2
Abron Cabron

Santa Fe, Nuevo Mexico
Paddling Since: 1999
Caleb- the short answer is: take a swiftwater rescue class before or during next paddling season. If you love the river, and you love kayaking,and want to do it for the rest of forever that is.....
I am not an expert, but i can give you a brief description... and by all means...if you are gonna take the class, then get a rescue PFD cause you'll need it. (to practice of course )
dont wear a rescue PFD until you are trained to use it. (thats what i was always told....)the reason being- someone sometime on the river may need you to help in capacity you are incapable of, and you will put yourself and others in jeopardy using the vest without training...
the class teaches you how to utilize rescue PFDs and throwropes, pulleys,all the gear, and how to swim and read and navigate hazards in a safe (er) manner.

So.... to answer your question, A quick release harness is a belt around the PFD that has a steel ring on the back and a tether attached to the ring, with a carabiner at the end. the belt has a quick release buckle in front so that you can pull the red knob, and disentangle yourself from the rope or boat if necessary.

The theory is : never tie into anything on the river.it can tangle and drown you very easily.. (the reason river runners need to always have a knife on them...!)