Playboat or River Playboat - Mountain Buzz

Old 04-11-2016   #1

littleton, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2013
Playboat or River Playboat

Are there any larger boaters that have found a play boat or crossover that works for them?
I am 6'3" 215 and find in the boats I have tried after I get through the rapids and I am in swirling water before I can react I am flipped over. I have tried a Monstar (felt like a station wagon) a 4Fun and a Varun both seemed to have the same auto eject characteristics.
I am new at playing but I need to find something so I can take the next steps.

THOUGHTS

bg

colo4o is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-11-2016   #2

Indian Hills, Colorado
If you'll be spending more time running rivers than in the play park, a "river running play boat" would be a good fit, such as the aforementioned 4Fun. I'm personally a huge fan of the M/L Pyrhana 420 as a river runner, but am a bit smaller than you...30" inseam, 190#. In any case, don't discount old-technology play boats for river-play.

To your question about getting bitch-slapped in the swirlies...I think you're not keeping an aggressive forward position and catching a stern edge. Focus on technique.

Regarding a "good boat for next steps," you probably ought to add a pure river-runner to your quiver. Think Super Hero, Mamba, Diesel, Burn or something in that range. A bigger volume boat will leave you much more comfortable pushing your limits, whether that's a first run on Black Rock, medium flow Numbers or high water Browns.

Cheers
DanOrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016   #3

littleton, Colorado
I run a Villain and a Shiva so I am covered on the river but I am wanting to play more. I will work on staying forward more but my face is getting red from the bitch slaps...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-11-2016   #4

Bazzaro, Free
Paddling Since: 2020
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanOrion View Post