Oarlocks, bending, oars, etc. - Mountain Buzz

Old 05-27-2009   #1

Calgary, Alberta
Oarlocks, bending, oars, etc.

I'm a noob, but I've been doing some reading.

I'm looking at building a frame for a small and fairly cheap raft that came with small oars... like 1 1/8" diameter... and I'm wondering how much I can bend brass oar-locks so that I can maybe use them instead of the cheap Carlisle clamping oarlock. I could do a rope wrap to make them thicker, but I still wonder if I can get standard oar locks to fit properly on such a small oar. There are not many options for oarlocks that I can find that have a 5/8" shank to fit the NRS oar mounts, and I can't seem to find any oar mounts with a 1/2" shank that don't require being screwed into something solid (and most likely wood).

Or perhaps this is a waste of time since the oars are far shorter than is recomended for my 4' wide boat? The oars I have are about 5' long, and from what I've read, 7' is recommended. These are what came with the raft, but it also didn't come with a frame. I only intend to take the raft on class II, maybe one day, class III, so nothing has to be too intense.

I'm trying to do this on the cheap and would like to not have to buy new oars as well.

Any ideas or suggestions?

cupido76 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-27-2009   #2
Shapp

the grove, Oregon
Paddling Since: 1986
please post a pic of the boat/oars, the cheapest thing to do is to use your 5 foot oars as Paddles and R2 if it is that small.
shappattack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009   #3

Calgary, Alberta
The boat is in Intex Mariner...

http://www.seahawk500.com/contents/m...rinerlarge.jpg

I bought what I thought were better oars from a local camping shop, but they're still not great from what I can gather. I don't have pics of them at work right now (will try to post soon), but they're a little longer, two-piece, and have a slightly narrower blade.