Oar size difference - Mountain Buzz

Old 04-06-2010   #1

Laramie, Wyoming
Paddling Since: 2000
Oar size difference

i have been rafting for a few years with my friends equipment. I just bought a 14 by 6'6 foot raft and was wondering what size of oars i should purchase. What is the difference between between the sizes?

I could get any help possible thanks

Garrett Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-06-2010   #2

Walterville, Oregon
Paddling Since: 1977
https://www.mountainbuzz.com/forums/f...gth-28644.html
Old 04-07-2010   #3

loveland, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1995
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wadeinthewater View Post
When you start looking through previous threads, you'll find there is a lot to the setup of oars. I'm just starting to learn, but a starting point is to measure the distance between oar locks (say 63" as an example), subtract a few inches to allow for some separation of the oars (63"-3"=60"), divide by 2 to get the equal length of each oar (60"/2=30"). Now use the general rule of thumb that there is 1/3 of the total oar inside the oarlock and 2/3 outside, so multiply by 3 to get total oar length (30"x3=90"). This example would start at 90"oars. Hope my math is correct, still on the first cup of coffee.
cpollema is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-07-2010   #4

Walterville, Oregon
Paddling Since: 1977
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpollema View Post
This example would start at 90"oars. Hope my math is correct, still on the first cup of coffee.
90" = 7 1/2 ft oars? Really? Better have another cup. It is a little more complicated than the above math. Other factors are the size of the tubes, height of the oar stands, placement of the oar stands on the frame, height of your seat, your body size and your personal preferences. Without knowing all of this I would still guess 9 feet, but you could prefer oars anywhere between 10 feet and 8 feet. Borrow some and try them out.