Need Advice on A pyrahna molan - Mountain Buzz

Old 01-10-2012   #1

utica, New York
Paddling Since: 2011
Need Advice on A pyrahna molan

I am brand new to kayaking and just fell into a brand new molan and paddle for 200 bucks. Only problem is possibly the size. I am 6 foot tall and about 215lbs, and the boat is a Med which after research is only rated up to 198lbs. the lrg is only an inch longer so I'm wondering if it's going to make that big of a difference. Being new to the sport I don't plan on doing anything too crazy with it....any advice or guidance is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

crossroads2284 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-10-2012   #2

Silverthorne, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2001
get a large if you can, it's pointless to squeeze into a tiny boat because it was a good deal.
DoubleYouEss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012   #3

utica, New York
Its only an inch longer and I already bought it......just wondering what I can expect as far as performance differences. It's brand new and I figured I can always resell it and double or triple my money or trade for something that will work better for me.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-10-2012   #4

The big difference will be the volume not the length. I paddled a medium for a year at 180 pounds and I thought it was a good sized boat for my weight. You are a little big for a medium, but the good news is you only paid $200 for it. If it is new you should be able to turn around and sell it for $600-$700 pretty quickly and get set up with a boat more your size.

*Edit: I looked in the swap and there is a used one for $650, so you could probably get more than $600-$700. If it's never been on the water still in plastic you may be able to trade it for full value.
Nathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012   #5

utica, New York
Thanks Nathan......appreciate the help. Just outta curiosity, what would happen if I did try to use it?
Old 01-10-2012   #6
gh