Maxxom - Mountain Buzz

Old 03-07-2011   #1

flagstaff, Arizona
Paddling Since: 2001
Maxxom

Anybody know anything about this boat beside its pvc, guled and has an i-beam. Seems like a good price and comes with a 5 year warranty. Any feed back would be appreciated.
el bandito

Bandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-07-2011   #2
sh$t show voyeuor/host

Barnard(Marshall), North Carolina
Paddling Since: wen?
They have been around longer than another pvc boat company who's name I will not mention! I don't know much about them but I would guess they would be on par with Star which I have a lot of experience with. They may even be made in the same factory, as at least a half a dozen korean made PVC boats seem to be. Stars start out great but deteriorate faster than higher quality boats when subjected to abuse or left in the sun all the time(we never 303'd em cause my boss said it makes them too slick for the guests to stand up and fish). And with a 5 year warranty, Maxxon definitely has more faith in their product than the previously (un)mentioned. How much are they new?
matt cook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011   #3
Shapp

the grove, Oregon
Paddling Since: 1986
We have one, the older valves suck (blue weird non-standard sized military valves). The PRV valve in the floor is in the worst place and seams to get perpetually clogged. The floor chamber seems to be really sticky when trying to blow up after being rolled (a lot more than out other boats). It has low rocker and is punchier than our other boats. Ours has the ridgid plastic handles which suck for paddling (bad placement). That being said it works fine for the $1000 we payed including a salmon river type frame, rear frame, 3 good oars, EZ-pump, straps and a few decent PFDs.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Grande Ronde 2007 (9).jpg
Views:	185
Size:	112.0 KB
ID:	3283   Click image for larger version

Name:	Jason's salmon photos (25).jpg