LL Stinger - Mountain Buzz

Old 01-21-2014   #1

Salida, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1996
LL Stinger

Has anyone here paddled a Stinger? Any thoughts on how it creeks or how it compares to the Green Boat?

Thanks!

rivervibe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-29-2014   #2
Tim Kennedy

Avon, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1988
LL Stinger vs. Dagger Green Boat

I have been paddling the Stinger since early July 2013. Here's some feedback:

"Creeking" ability: It paddles fine on moderately "creeky" rivers and on steeper creeks where you already know the lines really well. Due to it's length and lack of rocker, I'd have a hard time taking it on unfamiliar Colorado creek runs. I have paddled it on Pine Creek and Numbers and the Royal Gorge at low flows and had no problems. I paddled my Stinger 95% of the time on Gore Canyon this past season at flows ranging from 750 cfs to 1300 cfs. I took it down Bailey on the second day of Baileyfest (400 cfs?), but didn't run 1st Falls or Supermax. But on steeper, tighter runs like Bear Creek and Vallecito I paddle a shorter boat. The lack of rocker compared to short creek boats and the long flat "stinger" stern make it harder to boof. This is noticeable on sloping, late boof drops. But, the deck sheds water really well, should you sub out. The rails on the hull enable catching eddies a snap, if the eddy is big enough. It carries its speed really well (which it was designed to do). So, you kinda have to take a "race line" approach to the steeper rapids.