Life vest recommendation - Mountain Buzz

Old 11-30-2011   #1

Riverton, Utah
Paddling Since: 2005
Life vest recommendation

Ok, so I'm thinking about buying a new life vest for myself (Christmas gift). I've been using the standard 4 buckle whitewater vests for quite some time... I see lots of new designs.

So I'm short and fat... just under 6 feet and 260lbs. I am a rafter and row my own raft.

So what do you all recommend? (other than dropping 60lbs)

DanCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-30-2011   #2

-, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1994
Consider the MTI Patriot or Big Buoy

I have the Patriot and I like it so far. It is the rescue version of the Big Buoy. I have been running it for about 5 years so far with pretty good durability. I have been through two swifwater rescue classes with it and it performed well. I am 6'1'' 220lbs. I use it for rowing, and I have run it in my kayak but it really is a bit bulky for that. It has about 26.5 pounds of float and the pockets are useful. I also run a Green Jacket from Astral, It is much less float but also much lower profile. I really like the MTI over the Astral if there is a realistic chance of swimming. I have swam many rapids with the MTI and like the extra float.

Cheers!
heytat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011   #3

x, x
Paddling Since: x
kokatat ronin pro. lots of float xxl and optional rescue vest.
bobbuilds is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-01-2011   #4

Boise, Idaho
Paddling Since: 2008
I second the Patriot. It is the most comfortable of any high-float rescue vest I've ever worn. I like that the back is more narrow than most others in its class, allowing for a broader range of motion.

If you've had swiftwater training, or plan to soon, it's a great vest to consider. If not, you might like the MTI Big Buoy or NRS Big Water Guide. Or, you can always use the Patriot without the quick release harness...