Inflatable kayak for up to class IV rapids? - Mountain Buzz

Old 06-11-2018   #1

Hi,

I’m a newbie, and I only want to buy one boat. Not planning to jump right into class IV rapids, but want a boat capable of them when I do.

What’s a decent entry level 2 person kayak for rapids(need room for my dog 🙂 )? I like inflatables for ease of transport and storage, but I would consider hard shell if it’ll save hundreds. Oh I’m 5’ 11” and weight 200lbs.

Plissken99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-12-2018   #2
Gary F

Philipsburg, Montana
Paddling Since: 1984
Yo Plisken99, AWESOME. I am excited for you. We have "doubles" kayaks and have done not only harder runs but also have done multiday trips with them. The short answer is absolutely, yes you can run a class IV. Now having said that, if the class IV is of Grand canyon variety, you can usually find a slick run if you want and "miss" the meat of the run. However, if it is on a bonier river you have to run it and we have certainly done that too, flips and all. Because of your needs--size-- get a bigger double. Though I am smaller than you I still chose an Aire Outfitter II. It is a great multiday boat. You can haul lots of gear. We also have the NRS however, for you, it is too small. My 5'4" wife paddles that boat. The tubes are smaller. We run a couple of rivers when they are lower when rafts can't go. Fishing is great then. Have fun and be safe.
kokoroltd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2018   #3

Jenks, Oklahoma
I am a many decades long hard shell kayaker. As a result of a horrific accident I am out of hard shells and into IK's.

For what it is worth, what I have found out.