I-beam floor repair??? - Mountain Buzz

Old 04-05-2010   #1

telluride, Moab, UT
Paddling Since: 1977
I-beam floor repair???

Just bought a 1987 15 ft riken SB with the two middle I beams blown up. No external leaks on the floor, tubes, or valves and the boat looks to be in exceptional shape except for the floor I beams (no pressure relief valve). I have alot of experience repairing hypalon boats as I have been boating since 1977, but never have seen the inside of a SB floor. I am thinking I may try and fix it myself instead of paying $500 or more. I suspect I can make an 8 ft long straight incision in the center bottom of floor to inspect the damage and then do the repair work. I cannot find any info on the web on I-beam repair and was looking for any tips to make this repair professional. thanks in advance.

mcmarcia is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-05-2010   #2

Fort Collins, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2006
I have not been boating for quite as long as you, but one of my friends has a boat with 3 blown I-beams. We have looked into doing the repairs ourselves, but the amount of glue and hypalon needed for that repair is $$$. Plus its a very difficult thing to do properaly, for that reason we are now looking for a new floor. Someone on the buzz suggested that I call AAA inflatables located in Denver, CO. You could try asking them what they suggest. If you find anything out let us know.

Good luck in your endeavor.
Old 04-05-2010   #3

Golden, Colorado
I needed the same repair done last year (didn't want to take it on myself). It was two adjacent I-beams on a floor for a 15' 6" raft. Total was about $750 (Inflatable Technologies here in Denver). Awesome repair job.