GPS NEWBIE - Mountain Buzz

Old 08-04-2011   #1

Boise, Idaho
Paddling Since: 1999
GPS NEWBIE

Would someone with GPS experience be willing to point me in the direction of GPS device I could use to help navigate a river? I have little to no experience with GPS devices but would like to know how to use one to gauge when rapids are approaching (e.g. 200 yards ahead, "Lonna's Lulu" is approaching) I'm thinking I could upload a map into the device (the main of the Salmon) to do this. I know it can be done I just have no clue where to start. Thanks!!!

mattlindley is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-04-2011   #2

Parker, Colorado
I'm pretty happy with my Garmin Etrex Legend. It's pretty easy to get the GPS coords of riverside campgrounds input as waypoints and then easy to use on the river. They are waterproof and work well clipped onto my PFD. Be sure to get a small teather/leash/holster that will keep it in the boat with you if you drop it. I used mine to locate the camp spots downstream from State Bridge on the upper Colorado. The GOTO function shows the distance to the next waypoint and this let me pull off just in time to not float right by the camp.

There are flashier units but the Legend seems to work for me and they keep on working after others have broke. I also like taking something that I won't be too heartbroken over if it gets lost/broke/stolen.
billcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011   #3

Mesa, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2010