Getting Started - Mountain Buzz

Old 07-01-2007   #1

Longmont, Colorado
Getting Started

Hi.

I'm new to kayaking (well if you don't count two or three river trips in Oregon). Currently live in Boulder, CO and was looking for a boat and places to go. I am 5' 9'' 190lbs and saw an ad for a Dagger RPM. Read great reviews but am wondering if I'm too heavy for this boat. Also wondering some places to start in or near Boulder once I get some session in on the lake. Boat question more important to have answered at this point. Thanks for the help. Happy paddling!

Guy

guy_ragnetti@hotmail.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-02-2007   #2
gh

pnw, Colorado
What would you like to do in the boat? Are you cash constrained that you have to buy used? I could never get comfy in an RPM.
Old 07-02-2007   #3

Longmont, Colorado
No, not really cash constrained. Just didn't want to invest too much in something I'm just trying out. thought used might be a good way to go. But maybe not. What would you recommend for my frame. I'm probably going to just be using it in the Boulder Reservoir while I learn rolls and paddling. Then work my way up to Boulder creek. In the long run I probably want to do mostly river running with some surfing and maybe squirting. Don't see myself doing much more than that. Just looking for a starter boat I won't outgrow in a year. So, any more advice?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-02-2007   #4

The Road, Colorado
Paddling Since: '07
Send a message via Yahoo to Badazws6