Fat guy in a little Boat - Mountain Buzz

Old 08-24-2013   #1

Chicago, Illinois
Paddling Since: 2013
Fat guy in a little Boat

Sorry couldn't resist the Chris Farley reference. I'm new to the sport and my instructor recommended a river runner for my first boat. But I'm 5'7 and 200 lbs and have noticed its not the ideal body type for whitewater kayaking. I was looking into the zen series from Jackson, but read a lot of posts about how at the upper weight levels they can be more difficult. Can you folks recommend a good 1st boat for my body type. Sorry, I'm sure you get 1000 posts like this but I'm really enjoying this sport and want to make sure I have the right equipment!

Kayak123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-24-2013   #2
swimming

behind your mom, Colorado
welcome. Where are you planning on paddling whitewater near Chicago? (I'm originally from there). Ideally you want to be in the middle range of the weight recommendation, for river/creek boats you have plenty of options. I'm 6'1 200lbs and playboats are they only boat that's more difficult to choose because at our weight we're either at the very top of the weight range or way down.

I'd try to demo

Liquid Logic Remix 69
Jackson Super Hero
Maybe even a Medium Pyranha Burn

Like I said though, if you're paddling around chicago you probably don't want a white water boat...
streetdoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013   #3

Chicago, Illinois
Paddling Since: 2013
They have some ww parks near Chi- east race, yorkville and wasau. Most club members of CWA make trips. Thanks so much for the input.
Kayak123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-24-2013   #4
swimming

behind your mom, Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kayak123 View Post
They have some ww parks near Chi- east race, yorkville and wasau. Most club members of CWA make trips. Thanks so much for the input.