Dry suit decision - Mountain Buzz

Old 10-21-2009   #1
The Russian

SLC, Utah
Paddling Since: 2005
Dry suit decision

I am thinking of upgrading from a wet suit to a dry suit. I am no kayaker, just a rafter. So I am wondering if I should go with top/pants combo or a one piece dry suit?

Also, which brands should I look for? I am a total dry suit newbie.

Thanks,
Alex

kazak4x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-21-2009   #2

Buena Vista, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1986
It depends on your budget. A full Gore-Tex suit will cost you, but you will be drier for longer in the long run. Look at a Kokatat GMER if you want to go with the Cadillac. It's full Gore-Tex, has a great cut and is backed by one of the top companies in the industry.It's also a $999.
If you want a great dry suit for the money look at the Stohlquist B or G Pod. They make a 3 layer waterproof/breathable suit with lots of accessories (all latex gaskets and waterproof /breathable booties.).It's a front zip too.

The other option too look at is a pair of bibs. If you already have a dry top, you can roll in some bibs and be 95% dry. Unless your swimming alot it shouldn't be a problem. Kokatat TROPOS WHirlpool bibs are a good option.That's the cheapest way out(199 i think).

The nice thing about bibs is that you can use your dry top by itself in the spring.
ckspaddler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009   #3

x, x
Paddling Since: x
I would go with a top and bottom. easier to layer and remove.

Bomber had a set up that rolled together, that would be sweet.

I just think a suit would be to much to deal with layering wise, plus it would either be full on, or the top rolled down, or off. Which, if the top rolled down you get hit with a wave in comes the water. with pants and a top its less likely to happen.

My .02

just sayin'
bobbuilds is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-21-2009   #4

Fort Collins, Colorado