Diesel 75 or Super Hero for New Kayaker? - Mountain Buzz

Old 04-23-2015   #1

Portland, Oregon
Paddling Since: 2008
Diesel 75 or Super Hero for New Kayaker?

I kayak occasionally, but I'm no expert on plastic boats....

My buddy is looking to paddle a plastic boat (Whitewater) and has a line on three boats at a decent price. Two Diesel 75s and a Super Hero. The super hero looks like it is the second incarnation design from the one pic I've seen. All three appear to be in comparable shape and only include the plastic.

Which do you buzzards think is best for a 220 lb newb with a fair amount of Raft/Ducky experience.

I'm also 220, and paddle an older Pyranha H:3 255 and think it fits me fine.

Also, is a Hero (not a super hero) completely out of the question for a 220lb paddler? I've never paddled a kayak that was rated for less than 230+ before. I found a pretty good deal for one, but its a moot point if its just too small.

Advertisement

Old 04-23-2015   #2

Lakewood, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1989
The super hero has a better volume for 220lb boater. Though if the 75 fits and feels better and is in better shape and is priced better, it'll work for a beginner. Anything "creeky" over class III will be a challenge in the Diesel, however.
Old 04-23-2015   #3

Portland, Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by hojo View Post
Anything "creeky" over class III will be a challenge in the Diesel, however.
What makes you say this?
Advertisement

Old 04-23-2015   #4

Northern Utah, Utah
Paddling Since: 1990
The SuperHero is a good all around kayak, very forgiving, hard to do anything wrong with it as long as you avoid big holes. Depending on your height it may feel huge at 220lbs. While the SuperHero is a great as an all around river runner, it doesn't really excel at anything - it's just a floating spud/log. If you want something more fun take a look at a Jackson 4Fun or SuperFun.
FatmanZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2015   #5

Portland, Oregon
Quote: