Choosing the Right IK Paddle - Mountain Buzz

Old 12-10-2011   #1

My Truck, United States
Paddling Since: 2010
Choosing the Right IK Paddle

Hello All,

I am fairly new to the whitewater scene and have just purchased my first inflatable kayak. It's an innova k1 and i'm trying to find the right paddle for myself. My problem has been that either i can spend $80 dollars and get a crappy paddle or i can spend $300 and get a good one. Also, I'm looking for a paddle that is 210 cm or possibly 220 (210 preferred). If anyone out there has some advice for inflatable kayak paddles, i would greatly appreciate it, the sooner i can get a paddle the sooner i can be freezing my arse off out here on some river in Oregon. Thanks!

Dipper

dipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-10-2011   #2
fat guy in a little boat

FtC / Rancho del Rio, Colorado
Paddling Since: 8AM
paersonally i use the nrs ptr paddle on my IK. it's pretty cheap, has big ass blades which make a ton of difference for me, and has proven to be a super sturdy paddle over the last few years.
they also make a breakdown version and it lets you use either a 30 or 45 degree twist, which is nice.
they make a lot of different sizes. I'm a giant so i've been using a 230.
here's a link
PTR Kayak Paddle 45 at NRSweb.com

All I need are some tasty waves, a cool buzz, and I'm fine.
- Spicoli
bigben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011   #3

Durango, Colorado
Paddling Since: 4Eva
Our best selling IK paddle that we send out with most of our ducky sales is the Werner Tybee.

It's a great IK paddle, with a big blade, lengths ranging from 205 to 230, the best ferrule on the market with adjustability in 15 degree offsets all the way up to 90 degrees in both directions. Not to mention it's from Werner, so the overall quality is second to none. It's also only $130.