Cataraft without trailer? - Mountain Buzz

Old 07-10-2012   #1

Salt Lake City, Utah
Paddling Since: 1976
Cataraft without trailer?

Hi,

New member of this site. I was a lurker till now.

I have many years of whitewater experience with hard boats, but am just now thinking about a larger inflatable for multiday trips and for fly fishing (e.g. Green River in Utah, South Fork Snake in Idaho). Possibly some more challenging whitewater, as well.

The inflatable thing is new to me.

I am considering a cataraft for 2 people plus dog/camping/fishing, which I am thinking would be about 14 feet.

The question is this: Is it feasible to transport and put-in/take-out a 14' cataraft using a pickup truck with no trailer. Some time on either end would be fine, since, for now, I only anticipate a couple of extended-weekend trips every summer. I could also strap the frame to racks on top, I think, without much trailer. Do people do this?

Alternatively, does a 14' cataraft necessarily (in practice) necessitate a trailer?

Thanks much.

questionable is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-10-2012   #2
Plunk your magic twanger!

New Castle, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1999
I went two years without a trailer hauling around a 16' cat. I have a shell on my pickup with a rack and the frame rode fine on that. For local day trips, I would strap the inflated tubes on top of the frame. It literally looked like I could bring the truck to the river and flip it into the water and float the truck on top of the cat.

Because the cat needs sixteen assorted straps to put it together, I would always leave the straps attached to the frame.

It can be done but in the long run, you'll want a trailer.
Gremlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012   #3

at my house, Montana
Paddling Since: 2020