Bow line length? - Mountain Buzz

Old 04-11-2011   #1

norcal, California
Bow line length?

What length bow line would you recommend for a 14' raft? Thanks!

(First time outfitting a raft, more newbie questions sure to follow)

barcolounger is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-11-2011   #2
Adventurer

Mesa, Arizona
Paddling Since: 1993
Twice the length of the boat: 28'
Old 04-11-2011   #3

Kayenta, Arizona
Paddling Since: 2006
45-50 foot

barcolounger,

I am sure there is some magic formula for this, but I am un-aware of such a thing. I am a relative newbie myself and I personally utilize a much longer rope than just 28 feet.

I row a 14 foot rig and we always have a 45-50 foot bowline bag. I would think that with most rivers, you would be fine with only a 28 foot rope, but often times we find ourselves stopping or camping along rock edges with-out sand to pound a stake or trees to tie up to.

This past trip there was a night I had to climb way the hell up on the beach past some sandstone to get to a place where I could pound in a stake and tie-up. In my humble opinion it would not hurt to have a little more than just 28 feet.

Bucket
bucket52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-11-2011   #4
Adventurer

Mesa, Arizona
Paddling Since: 1993
I'm with ya' Bucket, but I don't like to have it attached to the boat. I carry extra rope that I can add if needed. I prefer having it but stored away....keeps it from being a bother when you don't need it.
Old 04-11-2011   #5

Aurora, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2000
I use a 50' throw rope. Works great. 75' would be even better, but I don't have one.

Kim
kclowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011   #6
Fry

The OC, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2009
For you rock climbers out there, and I am sure you already know, but rock pro works to hold boats...
Fry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011   #7

boulder, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1983