Boat brands to avoid - Mountain Buzz

Old 09-09-2011   #1

Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2010
Boat brands to avoid

Hey Guys,

I'm new to kayaking, only having done a flatwater class and a 2 day river class. I'm hooked, and can't wait to get out as much as I can. I've been pouring over mountainbuzz for info on boats, rivers, etc for beginners...

I get it that boat choice is pretty personal and to try different brands and styles for the right one for me to keep learning on. I'm looking for a used Mamba or Hero, something along those lines for entry level..

My question is, there's obviously the big names in kayaks (Jackson, Dagger, Pyranha, etc), but there's others out there that I'm not so familiar with. Any cheapos or shabbys that I should avoid altogether?

Thanks. BTW, mountainbuzz is pretty awesome, you guys have a fantastic community here in kayak world! I'm lovin it!

WetExit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-09-2011   #2

Steamboat, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1999
I think any major whitewater manufacturer is the last 5 years will be fine. I think most of the cheaper and off brands are going to be more of the crossover/fishing/flatwater boats.

Add wavesport, liquid logic, and fluid to your list and any boat from them should be good for you. The design and boat types of the mamba and hero are what a lot like to start paddling in so you have a good direction - demo.
kayakfreakus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011   #3

Beaverton, Oregon
Paddling Since: 2005
Yeah, anything sold as a whitewater boat is going to be solid. (Jackson, Dagger, Pyranha, LiquidLogic, WaveSport, Prijon, Fluid, Bliss-Stick, Big Dog)
brandob9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-09-2011   #4

Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2004
Send a message via AIM to craven_morhead